Alban Bagbin takes office as Speaker of 8th Parliament

Former legislator and Member of Parliament for Nadowli West constituency, Honourable Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin was today, Thursday 7th January, 2020, elected by MPs-elect to be the leader to steer the affairs of the house for the next four years.

The experienced lawmaker is believed to have won the election by 138 votes to 136 votes to his opponent, the outgone Speaker of Parliament, Rev. Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye. One vote was ruled as spoilt or rejected ballot.

The election which took place in the chambers of the house was charactised by chaos and saw all 275 MPs-elect cast their ballots.

Mr. Alban Bagbin nicknamed “Nadowli Mugabe” prior to his election as the new Speaker of Ghana’s Parliament, had served as an MP for 28 years from Thursday 7th January, 1993 to Wednesday 6th January, 2021 – thus serving in the past 7 parliaments; second deputy speaker of the 7th parliament and also served as Minister of Water Resources, Works and Housing and Health respectively.

Mr. Bagbin, the longest serving MP, decided to bow out of parliamentary service last year and therefore did not contest in the December 7, 2020 parliamentary elections.

He was sworn-in as the Speaker of the house by the Chief Justice, Justice Anin Yeboah.

Mr. Bagbin’s election as Speaker is the first in the country’s history where the Speaker is not from the governing party.

He will be assisted by MP for Bekwai constituency, Hon. Joseph Osei Owusu as first deputy speaker and independent candidate and MP for Formena Constituency Hon. Andrew Asiamah Amoako as second deputy speaker.

Africa Articles